Torngat Wildlife & Plants Co-Management Board
The powers and responsibilities of the Torngat Wildlife and Plants Co-Management Board include:

  • To establish when necessary Total Allowable Harvest (TAH) of non-migratory species of Wildlife and Plants, and to modify or limit those Total Allowable Harvests;

  • To recommend to the Minister conservation and management measures for Wildlife, Plants and Habitat in the Labrador Inuit Settlement Area;

  • To participate in Environmental Assessment processes and to recommend to the Minister and the Nunatsiavut Government measures to monitor impacts of Projects and Undertakings on Wildlife, Plants and Habitat;

  • To implement measures to monitor impacts of Projects and Undertakings on Wildlife, Plants and Habitat if approved by the Minister and Nunatsiavut Government;

  • To recommend to the Minister and the Nunatsiavut Government measures for the timely collection, analysis and sharing of data and information relevant to the implementation of Inuit rights under this chapter and to the Conservation and Sustainable Utilization of Wildlife, Plants and Habitat.
The TWPCB shall consist of seven members:

  • Three members appointed by the Nunatsiavut Government
  • Two members appointed by the Provincial Government
  • One member appointed by the Canadian Government

The Chairperson is appointed by the Board members.
Dr. Ron Sparkes (larger version)
Chairperson: Dr. Ron Sparkes
Ron was appointed on October 4, 2012 by the Government of Newfoundland and Labrador.
Ron Webb (larger version)
Nunatsiavut Appointee: Ron Webb
Ron was appointed on July 25, 2007 by the Nunatsiavut Government.
Henry Lyall (larger version)
Nunatsiavut Appointee: Henry Lyall
Henry was born in Nutak, Labrador in 1952 and was re-located to Nain in 1956, where he has lived ever since. He completed high school in North West River in 1968. Henry worked as an office clerk for the Government-owned stores for three years, then went on to work for Woodward's Oil for approximately twenty years. He became project manager for the Labrador Inuit Development Corporation in 1995, where he oversaw projects like the stone quarries at Ten Mile Bay and Iggiak and later the Base Camp in Saglek Bay to support the Torngat Mountains National Park. He represented the Labrador Inuit on three different Boards while with the L.I.D.C., Pan Arctic Inuit Logistics (operation and maintenance of the North Warning Radar System, in partnership with Atco Frontec), Torngait Services Inc. (site services at the Voisey Bay mine site), and Pikalujak Fisheries (offshore shrimp fishery, in partnership with Steinar Ingersett). Henry partnered with his brother-in-law in 1987 in starting a construction company, which expanded into real estate a year later.

Henry was appointed on March 29, 2012 by the Nunatsiavut Government.
Doug Blake (larger version)
Nunatsiavut Appointee: Doug Blake
Douglas Blake was born and raised in North West River, Labrador. He received his post-secondary education at Memorial University and NL Public Service. Douglas worked with NL Wildlife Division for most of his career until 2005 when he left the NL Dept of Natural Resources as Conservation Officer 1V. He then joined the Labrador Inuit Association as Manager of Lands and Natural Resources. With the formation of Nunatsiavut Government in 2005, he was appointed to the positions of Director of Non-renewable Resources and Deputy Minister of the Dept of Lands and Natural Resources until 2010. He also sits on a Membership board for the Nunatsiavut Government and as board member with the Goose Bay Capital Corporation under the Nunatsiavut Group of Companies.

Doug was appointed on March 11, 2013 by the Nunatsiavut Government.
Colin Carroll (larger version)
Provincial Appointee: Colin Carroll
Colin Carroll is the Director of Regional Operations with the Provincial Government, Department of Fisheries and Land Resources, Forestry and Wildlife Branch in Corner Brook, NL. Colin graduated from the University of British Columbia's Forestry Program in 1996 and is a Registered Professional Forester in NL. He has worked in both the Forest Industry and field research in forestry and wildlife in BC and NL. Colin worked as an instructor in the Natural Resources Programs (forestry; and fish and wildlife technician) at the College of the North Atlantic in Corner Brook and Bonavista campuses in NL. He began his career with Government as a District Ecosystem Manager in Cartwright and Northwest River in Labrador. His work in Labrador has helped him continue involvement and experience with Indigenous consultation and co-management in forestry related areas. Outside of work Colin is also the current Chair of the Model Forest Board NL and is the Second Vice Chair of the National Executive of the Canadian Institute of Forestry.

Colin was appointed on December 1, 2009 by the Government of Newfoundland and Labrador.
Dr. Blair Adams (larger version)
Provincial Appointee: Dr. Blair Adams
Federal Appointee: Frank Phillips
Frank is currently serving his third term on the board having been first appointed in 2009. In 2013 he retired from the province of NL with 33 years of service accumulated since 1976. He holds a Bachelor of Science (Biology) and a Bachelor of Education (Science Education) and has co-authored 14 scientific publications. His work with the province of NL was almost wholly in Labrador, and neighbouring Quebec, primarily focused on renewable resource management issues. Primary areas of interest were, and still are, caribou, waterfowl, fur bearers and bridging local knowledge and science. To complement formal knowledge he has always been an active hunter, fisher and trapper.
2015 Torngat Secretariat
#paigitsiaguk #takecareofit